I Want To Go To There: Hot Springs Edition

Last week was a long one for me, kids.

Between being under the weather, feeling kinda in-between EVERYTHING, and just being a girl, I was not as full of sunshine and rainbows as normal.

Last summer I went to this crazy hippie hot springs in Utah that my friend Lauren found, and it was pretty much the best.  Imagine relaxing in a claw-footed bathtub (I am serious) that mineral deposits have practically absorbed, looking over beautiful fields with mountains on the horizon.

Now I do have a hot tub in my building, but think I would rather travel and soak out some stress in an exotic, remote hot springs. Anything is inherently more satisfying with a bit of adventure and another country scratched off my map, would feel great!

So here are the top 5 natural hot springs I want to go to, ASAP (please):

1. Yambajan Hot Springs, Tibet

Via: budgettravel.com
Via: budgettravel.com

At close to 15,000 feet above sea level, this large high altitude pool is quite the surprise. With the dramatic snow-capped Nyainqentanglha Mountains as a backdrop and glaciers to the sides, geysers and boiling springs are very welcome in the chilly air.

Some of the pools have enticing names such as Vinegar Boiling Spring, Bread-Steaming Hot Spring, Noodle-Cooking hot spring and Fish-Cooking River. Sounds tasty to me!

(Travel Info)

__________________________________________________

2. Grjotagja, Iceland

Via: wikicommons.com
Via: wikicommons.com

While there are many famous hot springs in Iceland, I gravitated towards this cute, off the beaten path one. And it’s in A CAVE!  A lava cave, nonetheless, with spots for candles on the walls, so either bring a headlamp or a lighter for some needed illumination.

Side Note: It’s where the filmed the Ygritte and Jon Snow cave scene in Game of Thrones, Season 3, Episode 5.

(Travel Info)

__________________________________________________

3. Pamukkale Thermal Pools, Turkey

Via: tripadvisor.com
Via: tripadvisor.com

These naturally travertine terraced (from carbonate mineral deposits) hot springs in southwestern Turkey has 17 pools with temperatures ranging from 95 degrees F to 212 degrees F (ouch!). Nearby, the ancient city Hierapolis was home to Roman Baths and you can visit the Hierapolis Archaeology Museum, which seems pretty neat with ancient history type stuff if you get tired of relaxing and want to do some learning.

Pamukkale translates to “cotton castle” in Turkish. Something about that makes me inherently happy!

(Travel Info)

__________________________________________________

4. Ma’In Hot Springs, Jordan

Via: globorati.com
Via: globorati.com

It’s atypical for me to want to go anywhere that requires I stay at a resort for access, being a more off-the-beaten-path kind of girl (that and my deep loathing for tourists, even when I am one).  However, this hot spring/waterfall combination on the edge of a gorge in Jordan is too neat for me to overlook.

Not only is this over 850 feet BELOW sea level (yep, you read that correctly), it is super close to the Tomb of Moses and the city of Petra, archaeologically impressive and appealing attractions.

(Travel Info)

 

__________________________________________________

5. Puyuhuapi Hot Springs, Chile

Via: a-i-a.com
Via: a-i-a.com

I have already mentioned my desire to go to Chile and the Patagonia area to experience it’s insanely beautiful natural elements, so I might as well hit up some hot springs as another motivator, right? While these hot springs aren’t quite as remote as some above options and are “resort-y”, they are still awfully pretty.

Ah, let’s be real. I just want to go to Patagonia. The hot springs would be a bonus.

(Travel Info)

___________________________________

Sounds like time to pack hiking boots and a swimsuit and blow this Popsicle stand.  Yes? Please?

TO THE HOT SPRINGS!

_  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _

Need more pretty travel pics and ideas?

Previous “I Want to Go To There” Posts:


5 thoughts on “I Want To Go To There: Hot Springs Edition

    1. I am pretty sure that I absolutely must visit Iceland. Seems like it would be easy to do a whole Iceland’s Hot Springs tour and be very, very happy.

    2. I am pretty sure that I absolutely must visit Iceland. Seems like it would be easy to do a whole Iceland’s Hot Springs tour and be very, very happy.

Leave a comment