I AM like other girls.

I will admit that in the past, on more than one occasion, I have uttered the words “I’m not like a typical girl.”

And I’m realizing that statement is a complete lie.

With that in mind, I’m working on removing it from my vocabulary entirely. It’s reductive and demeaning and ridiculously trite.

Plus straight-up not true.

And that is a good thing.

Here’s why:

Lie #1: I’m not girlie like other girls.

I grew up with brothers. I’ve always been more of a tom-boy and into sports and not a big fan of flowery pink stuff. I generally prefer action movies to chick flicks.

But I’ve also had fun the last couple years exploring a little more of my softer side, primarily from an aesthetic standpoint. Yes, I still like my eye liner and rocker-chick look but I am becoming more accepting of the desire to sometimes just look pretty and soft and approachable. The longer my hair gets, the more I’m leaving it loose in soft waves.

I also own the complete series of Sex and the City on DVD. It is both pink and girlie and I love it.

Princess

Lie #2: I’m straight-forward with my feelings… not like other girls.

Which is sorta a bunch of crap. Lots of times yes, I am very straight-forward. But I’m also a peace-maker at heart and sometimes being straight-forward with feelings is more likely to hurt someone. So I will keep my feelings to myself and lie through omission even when asked point blank.

Sometimes it takes me a while to work out what my feelings are which comes across as suppressing them. I can be gossipy as well, though my intentions are generally to vent frustrations versus spread rumors.

So I’m straight-forward with feels… except when I’m not.

85636-81470

 

Lie #3: I’m not the domestic kind… I’m a career girl.

My career is a major driver in my life. I wasn’t interested in serious relationships in high school because I was already so focused on college and career goals. I wasn’t going to let puppy love hold me back in life.

Except I love cooking and baking and taking care of people. I adore hosting parties and events, making sure everyone is comfortable and content before I can settle down. I’ve been referred to as mom by friends on multiple occasions, I’m over-protective of friends and family, and enjoy mentoring/helping those younger than me.

I’d like to be a mom someday. I think I would do a darn good job too. I would make one heck of a ’50s house wife in so many ways.

enhanced-buzz-17950-1387837570-6

 

Lie #4: I am interesting and unique…

And blah blah blah… just like other girls.

I’m complex and simple, I’m sarcastic and bubbly, I’m a study in contradictions. Just like so many other girls, or as I should be saying, women I know.

In the end I’m simply human, just like the rest of you out there. With all the good and all the bad that goes with that.

tumblr_lnrmmr3Ykk1qeahkio1_500.gif

Being like so many other girls out there is pretty wonderful.

Leave a Reply

