Avoiding the Super Enthusiasm

It’s that time of year, boys and girls! The game that all of the beer and nachos have been leading up to! It’s the Super Bowl!

And to make it the first time in YEARS that I have cared about this game for more than commercials, my Seahawks are going to be giving it a go on Sunday against Denver… the city I currently live it. It’s pretty intense.

I am officially in hostile territory. 

If you want to know what my office feels like:

Anywho, I have mixed feelings about this whole situation. I just can’t seem to get swept away with all the hype, even as a Seattle girl living in Denver. (My home team vs my hometown!) Surrounded by intense fans on all sides, real life and social media are overwhelming me with Seahawks vs Broncos propaganda.

Bets have been made. Attempts to goad me experienced.  And I am not really enjoying it, to be honest.

Via: orange44.blogspot.com
Via: orange44.blogspot.com

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

So here is my plan thus far…

Things I will most definitely NOT be doing on Sunday:

  • Talking Trash. (I couldn’t even if I wanted to. A skill I inherently lack and I don’t enjoy trying)
  • Getting Crazy and Drunk. (School night, hello!)
  • Eating Greasy Crap-Food. (I can live without bacon. Sacrilege, I know, but honest.
  • Rubbing my Fan-dom in Other Peoples Faces. (No one likes obnoxious)
  • Getting in a Fight, Arrested or General Causing of Trouble. (Overall life goal, actually.)
  • Going into Downtown Denver. (Where I usually watch football, but I think it will be a madhouse)
  • Surrounding Myself with Die-hard Bronco Fan Friends. (Open hostility can’t be good for friendships)

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Things I MAY be doing on Sunday:

  • Skiing in the AM (I am guessing traffic will be light)
  • Maybe a Glass of Vino. (Reward for skiing)
  • Writing a Blog Post. (If I can think of anything clever)
  • Perhaps Watch Downton. (Depends how late football goes)

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

So yeah, I didn’t mention watching the game.

I do want to watch the Superbowl and my Sillyhawks, but I don’t want to deal with a mob of drunk irrational people cheering against my team or jeopardize any friendships. Call me crazy but, that just doesn’t sound like fun to me. I am over the one-dimensional football intensity which seems to manifest into 30-somethings acting 13.

I don’t like super loud intoxicated individuals.

I like it even less when they are angry. 

And I can guarantee, someone will be angry on Sunday. It’s bound to happen. And I think I will play left out, please. My moderate sports fan personality can’t deal with all of the noise. I don’t fit and I don’t want to compete.

Yes, it’s the Superbowl.

Yes, it’s kind of a big deal.

But at the end of the day, it is a FOOTBALL GAME. Not life or death. Not something worth having a heart attack over.

Aren’t sports supposed to be fun?

So maybe I will snag myself a glass of Malbec and watch football from the relative peace and quiet of my couch. I know it’s terrible and you may declare me to be an awful fan, but I just can’t bring myself to be excited about the circus.

Go team?

Via: saadcommentary.blogspot.com
Via: saadcommentary.blogspot.com
Leave a Reply

