Giving instead of Giving up.

I’ve written about my random love of Lent before, I know. But that time of year has come around once again so you get to hear about it again!

Synopsis: I do Lent every year, even as a non-active Lutheran, not for religious purposes but as an excuse to clean up something in my life… generally in my diet. Years past have included eliminating processed foods, drive-thru restaurants, hot chocolate, french fries (a bad year) desserts and meat (which ended in me being a permanent vegetarian) to name a few.

1f8b896c816c7e33d214cc14b9ee6ee1

But after doing a huge food cleanse/detox for all of January and continuing quite a few of those dietary choices into February (more on that in a later post), I was at a loss on what to give up this year.

Until my mom sent me an article about giving instead of giving up something for Lent… about focusing on the internal not the external.

And I was immediately struck by how much I liked the idea.

So this year, starting today, I’m going to try and give more thanks and gratitude to some of the wonderful people I’m lucky enough to have in my life. I’m going to send a quick note to one person per day for these 40 days, just to let them know how much I appreciate having them in my life and how important they are to me.

I want to give up taking people for granted this Lent. One little note at a time, one little gesture and thought. I want to make gratitude more of an active, conscious daily habit.

It was this or become a vegan, I’m so out of bad dietary habits to purge. And I don’t think anyone wants to see me without cheese in my life.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

