Seven shows you really should be watching.

(Though you probably already are, because you are cool like that.)

I’m picky with my tv choices, well, until I’m not. Sometimes you are looking for a light and fluffy escape, sometimes you just want a nice, blow-em-up action sequence with some attractive characters. In case your Netflix que is empty and you are looking for some new additions, consider checking out the seven current shows listed.

Many of them have only been with us for one season, making them an easy weekend binge option. I tried to leave off any really really obvious choices such as Game of Thrones or Orange is the New Black. The below shows are ones that I think are a smidgen less universally watched, and I’m trying to change that.

itll-happen-to-you

I’m listing them in order of serious to fluffy, though somewhat arbitrarily. And then I’ve added pictures from the Simpsons. Because this is my blog and I do what I want.

1. Orphan Black (Three Seasons) – “A streetwise hustler is pulled into a compelling conspiracy after witnessing the suicide of a girl who looks just like her.”

I cannot recommend this one highly enough. Seriously. This show is absolutely amazing, if only for the acting by Tatiana Maslany masterfully handling a plethora of characters so seamlessly that you truly forget it’s one actress playing several parts. A solid mixture of action, suspense and humor, I adore this show.

– Find it on Amazon Instant Watch

enhanced-31436-1438260273-7

– – – – – –

2. Blacklist (Two Seasons) – “Elizabeth ‘Liz’ Keen, a new FBI profiler has her entire life uprooted when a mysterious criminal, Raymond Reddington, on the FBI’s Top Ten Most Wanted List turns himself in and insists on speaking to her.”

I like action movies and this is a fun tv show version of that guilty pleasure. With fun intrigue, a snarky mouth lead and plenty of drama and explosions, it is an easy to digest weekly action fix.

– Find it on Amazon Instant Watch

enhanced-buzz-10874-1438270953-15

– – – – – –

3. House of Lies (Four Seasons)- “A subversive, scathing look at a self-loathing management consultant from a top-tier firm. Marty, a highly successful, cutthroat consultant is never above using any means (or anyone) necessary to get his clients the information they want.”

So you adore Kristin Bell and miss Veronica Mars? This is like that, just with generally unlikable people who have questionable morals and filthy mouths.

– Find it on Showtime

enhanced-10022-1438254269-6

– – – – – –

4. UnREAL (One Season) – “A behind-the-scenes look at the chaos surrounding the production of a dating competition program.”

I admittedly only made it though a season or so of the bachelor/bachelorette before becoming annoyed. This is beautiful retribution in the form of a somewhat soapy fictional behind-the-scenes plot. It does really make you take a good hard look at the value and negativity in “reality” tv. I’m not saying its all true, but it sure is entertaining.

– Find it on Lifetime TV

buzzfeed 2

– – – – – –

5. iZombie (One Season) – “A medical resident finds that being a zombie has its perks, which she uses to assist the police.

Please note, I do not like zombie things. I don’t like scary or gross movies. So the fact that I completely love this show, which reminds me a bit of Pushing Daises if not as playful, is a shocker. It’s a solid crime solving-buddy show with a side of non-graphic zombie-ness for diversity. I’m on board.

– Find it on the CW

pinterest

– – – – – –

6. Younger (One Season) – “After being mistaken for younger than she really is, a single mother decides to take the chance to reboot her career and her love life as a 26-year old.”

I never thought I would say this, but I kinda think Hillary Duff is awesome. While a bit formulaic in general, this show highlights the goods / bads of being in your 20s vs in your 40’s. I fall right in the middle, able to relate easily to both sides. Plus the male love interest is a hipster girl’s dreamboat and some enjoyable eye candy.

– Find it on Hulu or TVLand

enhanced-buzz-4907-1438268086-11

– – – – – –

7. The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (One Season)- “A woman is rescued from a doomsday cult and starts life over again in New York City.”

This super tongue-and-cheek and over the top show fills my heart with happiness. I love this as both an eternal optimist and as a former resident of NYC and all the contradictions therein. Prepare for silly ridiculousness and to never look at Pinor Noir the same way again. Hashbrown no filter.

– Find it on Netflix.

onzevc

– – – – – –

Happy binging! Let me know if there are under the radar must-watches that I need to add to my own list as well…

(All synopsis from IMDB.com. All images from Buzzfeed.com)

Leave a Reply

