Sex and the City (S1, Ep 1-3)

First off, it’s been a long time since I’ve watched the whole Sex and the City series.

I got into the SATC game after the show was no longer airing, caught a couple random episodes at my boyfriend’s house and was hooked. Yep, it was a guy who introduced me to this show. (He and his roommates started watching it because it had the word “sex” in the title, then realized it was a really good show. But they were embarressed to admit their genuine love for the show at first. See, guys have guilty pleasure shows too!)

So being the kind of girl to go all in when I realize I might maybe kinda like something, buying a full set of ski equipment after one try, for example, I went and purchased the complete box set of the series. I sat down and experienced all four girls and their stories from bad leopard print beginnings to swanky Paris endings. I loved it.

I was 22, just graduating college, moving to a new city (Denver) and in a serious relationship.

Lots has changed since then.

I have rewatched parts, episdoes, here and there, but I don’t believe I’ve gone back through the whole series in order since that first time.  In the intervening years, I’ve actually LIVED in New York and put a handful of years and relationships under my belt. To say I’m watching the show from a different perspective now is a gross understatement.

But enough rambling… let’s do this thing!

* (Synopsis all from HBO.com)

– – SEASON 1, DISK 1 – –

(Oh gosh, I don’t remember how to use my DVD player. I’m pretty much a full time streaming girl now. My AppleTV remote won’t help me here.)

______________

Via: ew.com
Via: ew.com

– Episode 1: “Sex and the City”

“At a birthday party for thirtysomething Miranda, Carrie and her friends vow to stop worrying about finding the perfect male and start having sex like men. Carrie experiments with an old flame and meets Mr. Big; Miranda warms up to Skipper; Samantha has a one night stand with a man Charlotte wouldn’t sleep with on the first date.” *

THOUGHTS:

– Ha! I forgot in the first episode they tried for some Ferris Bueler esque breaking of the fourth wall. Kinda awkward. But I like the factor that it’s Mathew Brodrick’s wife doing it. Kinda meta and funny.

– Oh my god, they are talking about me. They are talking about being a single woman in your 30’s. I’m a single woman in my 30’s. Huh.

– I want to have my next birthday at a drag bar where a tall drag woman in fishnets and a green wig sings to me.

– I love Stanford. I will always love both Stanford and his bold fashion choices.

– There’s the scene where Carrie gets bumped into on the street and her purse spills a whole handful, like actual handful of condoms as she runs into Big (the meet-cute, kinda). Who has a purse FULL of condoms on a regular basis. As a just in case? Like not one or two… like 20. I may adore this show, but I forget how many people they sleep with. Like, a lot. Not that I’m judging fictional characters from a tv show. (Yes I am.)

– Oh yeah, Skipper. The “nice guy”. Sweet. Awkward. And seriously, why would you ever set up that sensitive puppy with cynical Miranda.  I need to make sure I keep my own cynical nature in check so I’m not ever so jaded and pessimistic and mean as her, especially on a date. Geez, just be nice, Miranda!

– Leopard print bra type dress that Carrie is wearing? Yikes. I forget how awkward fashion was in 1998.

QUOTES:

– “Why are there so many great unmarried women and no great unmarried men?” (Carrie) – Interesting and still accurate.

– Charlotte (in reference to a painting): “It’s beautiful.”

Random dude (don’t remember his name.) “You’re beautiful.”

Ha. Smoooooooth and original. Not. Blech.

NYC TRUTHS:

– Near the end of the episode, Carrie is trying to find a cab late late on a Friday night to get herself home and isn’t having any luck. That, ladies and gentlemen, is accurate. But I’ve never (and wouldn’t get into a car, even a nice town car with some guy I vaguely knew) had a random guy invite me into his town car to get me home. That’s when you get aggressive, and have to play the “go farther up the block than someone else and stand in the street in front of them and steal their cab” game. All of this was pre-Uber of course. Uber fixes everything.

– – – – – –

All in all, fun first episode, if a bit rough with all the smooth jazz, melodramatic looks, and slightly grungy styling. If I remember correctly, most of this gets corrected quickly. But I think it was very effective in giving you a good feel for the main characters in little blips.

______________

Via: musingsonlove.com
Via: musingsonlove.com

– Episode Two: “Models and Mortals”

“Miranda makes the mistake of going out with a “modelizer” (someone who’s obsessed with models); Samantha chooses to go out with a modelizer and has her sexual encounter videotaped; Carrie experiments with Derek the Model and flirts with Mr. Big.” *

THOUGHTS:

– Most the episode is about having a type you date, in this case the type being models. But really I think it starts to talk about the superficial nature of all people, and how much we focus on looks and such vs content. It’s a legit topic.

– There is a ton of talk about the difference between cute and beautiful. Cute vs model. Cute is seen as a negative or at least not sexually desirable.

– There’s a moment that all four girls are complaining about elements of themselves that they dislike. And Samantha has nothing bad to say about herself. She’s content and confident and refuses to hop on the “pick a bad part of me to hate” thing. I like that a lot. Like yourself and be confident.

– Ah, they go to a fashion show. I will admit, that was a dream of mine that never manifested when I lived there. My love of fashion, developed in NYC and beyond, never got to see a live runway show.

– I mean, they REALLY push to show how much Samantha is all about the sex in these early episodes. It’s so nice when she starts to become a bit more multidimensional as the series goes on.

– Smoking! And in bed! No! Bad Carrie!

QUOTES:

– “So what am I, your intellectual beard for the evening”? (Miranda) LOVE this in reference of a guy who previously dated only on looks and his friends told him he’s not allowed to bring around any more unintelligent women.

– “It’s hard to believe than anyone so beautiful could be so lonely.” (Carrie) Why? Beautiful people are people too. And all people have emotions.

– “I think you are luminous” – Skipper’s compliment to Miranda. Amazing.

– “After a while, you just want to be with the one who makes you laugh” (Mr Big on dating)

NYC TRUTHS:

There seriously were times where you would stop and look around and be like, oh geez, I think everyone here really is a model. I’m 5’6″ and not a string bean. NYC is most definitely a city full of beautiful people.

– – – – – –

Remember that people are people, looks aside. They ALL have feelings and faults and good and bad. If I can be totally cliche, don’t judge a book by the cover.  Assuming intelligence based on looks is unfair. And often inaccurate.

______________

Via: sexandthecityareview. blogspot.com
Via: sexandthecityareview. blogspot.com

– Episode Three:  “Bay of Married Pigs”

Carrie is invited to a couple’s house in the Hamptons only to be flashed by the husband; Miranda’s law firm thinks she’s a lesbian; Samantha gets to know her doorman better; Charlotte dumps an eligible guy with the wrong china pattern.” *

THOUGHTS:

– Confession: I never went to the Hamptons. Not once. Probably should have.

– I do consider my single girl stories as friendship currency for my settled friends. But I like that they say “Architects (give) design advice” cause I also do that. Find yourself a single architect friend. She’ll give you design advice and fun single people dating stories!

– Oh yay! This is the pseduo-lesbian Miranda episode! Ha!

– I like how seamlessly they meld in the straight and gay relationships together in this episode. They make it the norm without calling attention to it. Pretty progressive in 1998 for a tv show, I think. But they celebrate all romantic couplings and make it a non-issue. Well played, HBO.

– As the only single girl at her law firm, Miranda says yes to a blind date. Which ends up being with a woman. I mean, just cause a girl has short hair, doesn’t mean shes not straight. “You’ve been with the firm forever and I haven’t once seen you with a guy” (Miranda’s coworker) Ha. Love this. Considering I have guy friends who constantly talk about harboring a hope that I’m actually a lesbian… this cracks me up.

– It is true though, that sometimes it seems that you appear to be a mysterious wild card as a single girl, vs a “figured out” person in a relationship. Which is really quite sad. You shouldn’t be defined by your relationship status.

– Truth: It IS awkward to be one of the only single people at an event that is all coupled up people. #mylife

QUOTES:

– “The ones who don’t fear you, pity you.” (Miranda, on married female friends) I don’t think my married friends hate me, fear me, or pity me. I don’t believe in this. I word really hard to keep all my friendships intact, no matter relationship status.

– “I’m beginning to think I may not be the marrying kind.” (Carrie) Yeah? I mean this is something you actually should think about, I guess. Are people legit not interested in marriage? I suppose I assume that everyone wants that someday.

– “Miranda realized how much easier her life would be if she was in a couple, any couple.” Sometimes it feels that way.

NYC TRUTHS:

This episode focuses a lot on how a guy who wants to get married in the near future is a rare creature, especially in Manhattan. Which I will say, to a lesser degree, seemed true. It seemed, that in a city of so many people and new opportunities and options, the idea of being settled down seemed rare, even in a committed relationship. That didn’t even get into the idea of marriage. It’s one of the things that made being single in that city difficult.

– – – – – –

This whole “Married vs single” thing… It’s funny, I’ve just recently had convos with both single and married friends about dynamics changing with single people interacting with married people now that we’ve reached our 30s. Sometimes it’s strange from an outside standpoint, and that sucks and shouldn’t be. There shouldn’t ever be perceived threat or inappropriateness in single people talking to someone who isn’t single.

It is also fun how this episode ends with highlighting how Carrie’s “I was just trying him on” bf is so focused on wanting to get married. Certainly a case of two people not being in the same stage in life as each other. Additionally, it’s not just women who want real connection and relationships. It’s good to remember that.

Miranda is extra awesome in this one, full of really good quotes and insights and sarcasm.

______________

Okay, that’s a solid start! Just tons and tons left to go!

 

Leave a Reply

