Someone Has To Win, Right?

I don’t consider myself lucky.

Well that’s not totally true. I’m lucky in my life in general and blah blah blah.

But I’m not lucky in raffles or the like. I don’t win things. Ever.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Winning by association has sorta become my thing.

It actually started at an early age.

My childhood best friend seemed to ALWAYS win something in our elementary school raffles. For a little while this bothered me, how she would have all the luck and I would have none. It seemed unfair. Luck wasn’t so random after all.

(I was told later that the trick was to slightly bend your raffle ticket so it had more traction in the pullers hand or something.)

But then I changed my perspective, realizing I was in fact genuinely happy for my friend and her luck. It was awesome! And I would much rather she win than have Vicky win. (I did not like Vicky. Can’t remember why not, but that strong dislike remains to this day.)

If I couldn’t win, I would at least feel joy at my friend’s joy. I would be her good luck charm. I would be lucky by association.

baconwrappedmedia

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

And it has continued to this day. Just last month while at a conference in Vegas, my coworker won an iPad in a raffle. We witnessed one of our company’s distinctive orange business card pulled and waited for the name. I leaned over to her and whispered… “It’s you.

She looked back, confused at my confidence. After all, for anyone else it would be a 50/50 shot.

But not with me. I knew.  I’m not the winning type. 

I don’t think she fully comprehended the power of my luck for others or my complete contentedness with that being the way of the world. Or how genuinely super-duper excited I was for her to win.

Several years ago at another work conference, I was with a friend when she got a phone call announcing her as the winner of another raffle type prize. And one of the big ones, too. Coincidence that I was walking with her? I think not!

Even I can recognize a lifelong pattern when I see it.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Somehow this kind of thing has become like winning for me. I think I seriously feel the same excitement for others winning than I would if I won something myself.

Okay, that isn’t entirely the truth…

I simply don’t know what I would do if I won something.

It would be too surreal. I would probably assume it was some joke, or hidden camera show, or strange twist of fate that indicated the impending apocalypse.

My denial would go a bit like this…

via: wifflegif.com
via: wifflegif.com
via: hercampus.com
via: hercampus.com
via: reactiongifs.us
via: reactiongifs.us
via: okmoviequotes.com
via: okmoviequotes.com
via: giphy.com
via: giphy.com
via: gurl.com
via: gurl.com
via: arsenicthemagazine.com
via: arsenicthemagazine.com

Let’s just all hope my luck holds (or continues to not hold?) and I never have to experience this type of internal confusion about winning things.

via: kikudesu.tumblr.com
via: kikudesu.tumblr.com

(No idea why I’m in a Will Ferrell mood today, but there you go.)

I think I am much more comfortable being good luck for others.

Someone has to win, right? 

It might as well be my friends.

Leave a Reply

