A New Yorker Called Me A Hipster

For the record, I don’t think I am a hipster.

I don’t think I look like a hipster.

I don’t think I dress like one, or act like one, or think like one.

But ever since living in NYC for a hot minute, it is a term that has followed me around like I have (vegan) bacon in my pocket and it’s a lost puppy dog.

A lost puppy dog with an ironic mustache.

via: youreahipster.tumblr
via: youreahipster.tumblr

…………………………………………

At a work conference last week in Vegas, a very dapper gentleman from NYC and I were chatting. About life, about design, about style. Within about two minutes of our conversation he used that word.

Oh yes, he called me a hipster.

And I still don’t even totally understand why.

…………………………………………

His side of the conversation…

  • A tiny little nose ring?
  • The subtle funky color hair streaks?
  • Wait, how many tattoos do you have? 
  • Rocking the Toms-esque booties with a business casual look?
  • And you say you lived in Brooklyn for a bit?

HIPSTER!  he declared, with the assured finality of a fashion headsman.

…………………………………………

I mean, are these really hipster “looks”?  Really?

via: vegashipster.blogspot.com
via: vegashipster.blogspot.com

Okay, I would probably wear almost all of those things.

Still. Not a hipster. I’m just not the plaid shirt type, guys.

…………………………………………

Random NYC man didn’t even know about how excited I was for Trader Joes to come to Colorado.

Or how most of my pescatarian diet involves of kale and quinoa. Together, if possible. What? I like being healthy!

Or my propensity to like little known bands, then bemoan their rising fame and how you only hear their most popular songs on the radio.  And how they now only playing huge, soulless venues, and I won’t go. I prefer small, underground dive bar venues, thankyouverymuch.

And summer scarves are a very logical comfort decision, plus they do look snazzy.

I make some of my own jewelry out of hardware… everyone does that, right?

And I am known for being a bit crafty and making things from scratch… desserts too. That’s not hipster, that’s domestic.

I also watch Girls and relate to it, maybe too much. It’s just good entertainment.

I’m so over it. Over all of it. (And random NYC man didn’t even know that.)

Except fro-yo. I will never EVER ever be over fro-yo.

someecards

…………………………………………

Seriously though, I am not a hipster at all.

Ask anyone who really knows me.

Other New Yorkers who know me have confirmed this.

And I even took this quiz.  It said I wasn’t a hipster. So there is that.

And I really only wear my nerdtastic black rimmed glasses at home when my eyes are tired from contacts.  THEY ARE PRESCRIPTION YOU GUYS. They are legit. Not ironic.

…………………………………………

Or watch this awesome PBS video about hipsters… I don’t fit the definition.

(Also learning! Yay!)

I could write a whole giant post about how many completely non-hipster traits I have. (It’s a lot!)

Most importantly is the fact that I do, GENUINELY, care about things.

I don’t understand why this continues to happen to me.

Also hipsters are like, so three years ago.

Whatever. I’m over it.

2 thoughts on “A New Yorker Called Me A Hipster

Leave a Reply

