Smoking Without a Helmet

Look, I am not one to go all PSA on you, world.

But there are two things, health and well-being related, that I just DO NOT understand that people still do.

And I am talking smart, informed people, too.

So I would like to vent them at you, dear internet.

And ask two proverbial whys to the world…

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

WHY DO YOU NOT WEAR A HELMET?

Via: dailysabs.com
Via: dailysabs.com

(I mean, I personally think the above cat looks pretty darn stylish)

I am talking in just about anything where you are moving a quick speeds with a good chance of being hit by something else fast or wiping out yourself.  Skiing or Snowboarding. Riding a bicycle on busy roads. Riding a motorcycle. 

I hear the argument when people are all like, “Ohhh, I don’t wanna look lame with a helmet and mess up my hair.” Then I am all like “Imagine how lame you will look when you crash and burn and DIE.”

I know, saying lame is pretty lame.

And a bit melodramatic, but let’s be frank. Especially in many of these sports where wearing helmets is now totally the norm, it’s not as if you are going to look like the Bubble Boy rolling down the mountain. You will look like everyone else who is smart enough to protect their brain.

I like to say that there isn’t anything more attractive than smart. And safety is smart.
Therefore Safety=Sexy.
(And if you are really that concerned about “looking cool” there is this crazy invisible helmet in the works. Leave it to the Swedes to make a more fashionable designed mode of protection.)
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
WHY DO YOU STILL SMOKE CIGARETTES?
Via: people.tribe.com
Via: people.tribe.com

(Confession: My brother had the above poster in college and I will always have a soft spot in my heart for Smoking Kittens.) 

We all know that cigarettes are bad for us. That is all. 

Simple as that, they are terrible for your health in so many ways.

Now, I tried cigarettes back in the day and never got the attraction. Probably because I never got a buzz from them, so mostly they just made my throat sore and made my hair smell. So, not very appealing to me.

And I do understand that nicotine is an addiction. But I have a hard time understanding an inability to break away from them. It’s difficult to understand when you can’t empathize.

In my book, cigarettes are not attractive and I am not a fan of being around them. I try to date people with similar interests in outdoor pursuits, being healthy and playing sports.

I don’t date smokers.

From my fundamentally self-centered standpoint, smoking is all the worse because it affects me. Your decision has the potential to be a health risk TO ME. That is rather rude and selfish and I clearly don’t have much tolerance for it.

Now I know smokers and all of them are very careful about where/when they smoke and keep the second-hand away from me. It’s not like I think people who smoke cigarettes are bad people. I try to sympathize but it is difficult. If someone can explain in a way that I can comprehend the appeal of smoking, that would be wonderful.

But if you are someone I care about, it makes me sad to know you are causing your body harm.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

I JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND.

In this day and age… YOU KNOW BETTER!

Just, why?

Also, did I just sound like a 85 year old crotchety women griping about “kids these days”?

I am going to let Offspring bring this blog on home.

One thought on “Smoking Without a Helmet

Leave a Reply

