Five Food Habits I Should Break

Generally, I think I am a pretty decent eater. I don’t consume much fast food or soda or highly processed things.  I LOVE vegetables, am roughly 85% vegetarian, and have made kale and quinoa main staples in my diet because I genuinely think they are delicious.

Okay, so maybe I am a bit of a food hipster, but bear with me.

Yeah, I do eat french fries whenever given the chance and can’t seem to kick my Starbucks hot chocolate habit, but I think I am a mostly healthy person when it comes to food.

But I still have some bad habits that I should probably stop doing.

Here are my top (or current at least) five food habits I should break:

(As told by Jennifer Lawrence, because she is hilarious.)

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

1. Watching The Food Network While Eating –

Via: carbonated.tv.com
Via: carbonated.tv.com

Alright, I know I shouldn’t be watching ANY tv or multi-task while eating because when you are distracted you tend to consume more calories than needed… Blah, blah, blah. But I believe this habit’s terribleness is amplified when I decide to watch food related shows. Chopped, MasterChef, Top Chef, whatever it may be, it’s often tv DESIGNED to make you hungry. It is full of skilled artisans making absolutely mouth watering looking combinations and then describing them to me.

Not only does it make me more hungry, but it also causes me look down upon my chosen meal and be a little sad for me. I would certainly not given myself any points for presentation or creativity. Fail.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

2. Buying Fresh Herbs –

Via: teen.com
Via: teen.com

Wait, you are going to say, infusing your veggie heavy diet with fresh herbs is a bad thing? And I reply yes, but only from a sustainable and financial point of view. I will often get excited about a new recipe (thanks Pinterest!) and logically splurge for the fresh basil or rosemary or whatnot. It’s so tasty! I should always use fresh herbs, I declare! Until inevitably, I use about 1/8th of the package… and then the rest goes bad.

I either forget about it, or cannot for the life of me find any more recipes requiring vast amounts of fresh sage. I just can’t. And then it makes me feel so wasteful. I just wish they would sell individual portions of fresh herbs.

(For the record, I have tried growing my own fresh herbs multiple times. However considering I am still on the “barely keeping cacti alive” stage of green-thumb mastery, it has gone…. poorly.)

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

3. Being a Food-Pinterest Zealot –

Via: teen.com
Via: teen.com

Pinterest is a wonderful tool, especially when it comes to discovering new dishes. There are so many recipes and ideas and pretty pictures to just make your foodie heart go all aflutter. But sometimes I fall into the rabbit hole of Pinterest… A quick search for a specific dish turns into other ingredient ideas which merges into another into more inspiration (you can make brownies in a mug?!), and before I know it, it is after 9 pm and I haven’t actually cooked or eaten anything.

But I sure have pinned a ton a delicious and tasty looking ideas that I will TOTALLY make soon. But not that night. That night will be a dinner of uninspiring leftovers or random items that sound delish to my ravenous self. Or cheese. I might just eat cheese.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

4. Eating Cheese Late at Night –

Via: allgeektome.com
Via: allgeektome.com

Liz Lemon might be my spirit animal and I have never even watched 30Rock (I know! Gasp!) But what I do know from what the internet taught me is she has a funny gif about “working on her night cheese“. And I can get on board with that concept. Cheese is quite delicious, and as previously discussed, my diet is extremely high in dairy. But it’s the fact that my version of a midnight snack is pretty much ALWAYS a slice or two of delicious cheese.

I don’t know what is an acceptable late night treat (logically nothing… don’t eat after 9, right?), but I think cheese is probably a bad choice. Except it’s tasty and delicious and makes me happy. So there is that.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

5. Edamame + Wine = Dinner – 

Via: styleite.com
Via: styleite.com

Okay, as this list goes on I am feeling the need to maybe reevaluate my earlier statements of being a decently healthy eater. I might in fact have an absolutely atrocious diet. And to be honest, sometimes the combinations that I think count for a meal are fairly terrifying. (Like my versions of homemade tapas.)

Edamame, a couple slices of cheese, and a glass of wine is not an unusual dinner for me.

Is that terrible?

One thought on “Five Food Habits I Should Break

Leave a Reply

