Thank You for Rejecting Me.

I really mean this.

From the bottom of my heart and with no sarcasm (for once).

I want to thank you. Really say thank you.

Thank you for rejecting me.

Via: memegen.com
Via: memegen.com

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Thank you for being a winter sports person. Being around you made me reevaluate skiing and give it a real shot.

Thank you for existing as the source of my crush, encouraging me to fake bravery. Which, like any quality self-fulfilling prophecy, made me brave in reality.

Thank you for a new activity which makes me happy.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Thank you for being interested in me, but shy and reserved.

Thank you for making me be the bold one. For forcing me to put my pride on the line with your ambiguous responses.

Thank you for teaching me that I am capable of being blunt and brave. Of being direct and “throwing it out there.” That I can be scared and still succeed.

Thank you for helping me realize I am capable of such feats. Intimidating and courageous deeds. Small to some, but Kilimanjaro to me.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Thank you for being hard to read, but enticing.

Thank you for making me recognize that there is a balance of boldness and insecurity which is perfection. And to the one end lies timidity that I don’t want to deal with. There shouldn’t be a check yes or no if you like so-and-so box in my romantic life anymore.

Thank you for helping me comprehend that I want to be in charge of my own dating destiny. And that I don’t want to be Cyrano de Bergerac.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Thank you for the understanding that my fear of black and white answers is not always justified. That certainty can be better than the ambiguity (and dissatisfaction) of my usual tones of grey.

Thank you for helping me see beyond leaving doors ajar.

Thank you for enabling me to realize that no is sometimes a better answer than maybe.

Thank you for helping me recognize that rejection, even very polite and passive rejection, will not crush me. I will still smile at the inherent satisfaction in concrete knowledge.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Thank you for making me branch out beyond my normal type and see a potential future that isn’t in neons. I know I can find happiness with someone who is more of a still pond to my crashing ocean, which I didn’t think possible before.

(Or some sort of metaphor about people complimenting each other’s strengths and weaknesses, etc.)

Thank you for waking me from the fantasy that if I am just myself, everyone will love me. That’s not true and it’s good to know. Doesn’t mean I am not awesome (I am), but I am not for everyone. I get that. And it’s okay.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Thank you for being a lovely, confusing source of diversion.

Thank you for keeping me casually intrigued without the hassle of actually dating. A great source of reverie in a time when I’m too distracted to date in reality.

Thank you for reminding me of the fun parts of dating; the butterflies, the giddy joy, the nervousness, and the satisfaction of a perfect adorable text.

Thank you for being a safe could-be in a time that I needed it.

Thank you for letting me dream.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Thank you for helping me see and remember the potential…. in me, in others, in all the maybes.

Thank you for being the inspiration for a silly little crush, reminding me that my heart isn’t irrevocably frozen.

Thank you for arriving unexpectedly and becoming a pleasant little distraction.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Thank you for giving me hope.

via: gifbuffet.tumblr.com
via: gifbuffet.tumblr.com
Leave a Reply

