Assuming, Part Two… this time it’s physical.

Assuming: Making “an ass out of u and me” continued…

The other day, I wrote about the stupid (to me) assumptions people make about basics characteristics… stereotypes and misconceptions of me based upon things such as the part of the country I am from, my job, and my relationship status and age. If you missed it, you can find that post here.

Let’s keep on that thought train, but jump into the realm of physical appearance and the assumptions that accompany it. Of course these are only my own encounters and how I find them to be horribly inaccurate.

Physical Shmysical, Once Again as Told by Donkeys.

__________________________________________________

Via: wikimedia.org
Via: wikimedia.org

Pale Freckly Skin = I Want to be Tan

I have embraced my paleness… leaning towards straight-up pasty in the winter. (I lovingly call it my “dead fish complexion”) But I don’t have a strong desire to tan. Genetically it’s just not in the cards for me, plus I figure I will (hopefully) have much better skin in my 70’s than my currently sun kissed and tan counterparts. Pale is healthy, at least for me.

__________________________________________________

Via: animal-science.com
Via: animal-science.com

Easy Blusher = Blushing Is a Fun Game I Enjoy

Believe it or not, I don’t have a ton of control over blushing and it’s not a fun activity for me. And yes, if I start to blush and you point it out and then everyone stares at me, my face WILL get exponentially more red. I hope you are having fun. Cause for me, feeling like a crimson-faced monkey in a zoo isn’t that awesome.

__________________________________________________

Via: thesalseblog.com
Via: thesalseblog.com

Well Endowed Chest = Dumb Hussy. 

I am not talking halfway down the alphabet in cup size, but I naturally took after my Swedish side (stereotype) in that particular region. Button-up shirts are my nemesis. V-necks can be dangerous. Empire-waists are impossible. So I consciously dress to play down the girls because I want people to notice my face and maybe even my personality. Mostly because this stereotype is tragically very powerful.

__________________________________________________

Via: savethedonkey.com
Via: savethedonkey.com

Red(ish) Hair and Blue Eyes = Must be Irish  

This one only gets me when people don’t believe my heritage isn’t Irish. When I explain that I have Swedish and Norwegian ancestors, people often look at me incredulously and ask if I am sure. Yes, I am actually sure about my heritage. Irish aren’t the only gingers… ever heard of a Viking called Erik the Red?

__________________________________________________

Via: wallpaperspoints.com
Via: wallpaperspoints.com

Scandinavian Heritage = 6′ Tall with White-Blond Hair

No, I know I don’t look like the stereotypical Swedish Olympic Ski Team Barbie. Yes, I am still 100% Scandinavian. (Trust me, I wish I was taller too.)

__________________________________________________

Via: employmentandlaborinsider . com
Via: employmentandlaborinsider . com

Wear Dark Clothing = Depressed Emo

I already talked all about this in a previous post. I just like the classic, clean simplicity of dark clothing. Doesn’t mean I am goth or an anarchist in the slightest.

__________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

