You Know What Assuming Does, Right?

I always loved that little saying we learned in elementary school about assumptions… how it makes “an ass out of u and me“… (also really helpful with spelling, amiright?)

Assumption, stereotypes and generalizations… and all those split-second assessments we make about other people may be innately a part of human nature, but they are not one of our best traits.

And I really think they do tend to make us into donkeys.

There are a handful of assumptions that I tend to be on the receiving end of quite often that drive me crazy. So I am going to share them with you, dear anonymous internet blogosphere. ‘Cause that’s kinda what I do.

Let’s commence with some basic “About Me” stuff:

_________________________________________________

Via: acuteaday.com
Via: acuteaday.com

Youngest Child AND Only Girl = Spoiled, Entitled, Lazy Brat.

Now, I am not going to say I have never gotten my way. In many ways I will always be the baby of the family. However, I work hard for things I want, certainly don’t believe that I am entitled to anything, and try to keep the brattiness to an absolute minimum.

_________________________________________________

Via: wikimedia commons
Via: wikimedia commons

Born and Raised Seattlite = Love (Non-stop) Rain

No, I don’t love the rain. I don’t HATE it, but it’s one of the things I miss the least about Seattle. Also it does not, in-fact, rain non-stop year round. PNWers just tell you that so you won’t move there and experience the best summers in the US of A. (Shhhh, secrets)

_________________________________________________

Via: tehcute.com
Via: tehcute.com

Born and Raised Seattlite = Wear Birkenstocks, Plaid Flannel and NorthFace

First off, it IS possible to live in the Pacific Northwest and never own a pair of Birkenstocks. It is also possible to be born and raised there and still have a fashion sense beyond “lumberjack-chic”.  I don’t even know any lumberjacks.

_________________________________________________

Via: businessinsider.com
Via: businessinsider.com

Single 30-year-old Woman = Desperate to Find Husband ASAP

Yes, it would be wonderful to find a great partner to spend my life with, blah, blah, blah, but I have been open to that since college. The operative term is “open to“, not “searching for“. There was no magical alarm that went off the morning I turned 30 (or heck, not even in my 20’s) demanding I switch my entire life focus onto finding THE ONE. Nope. Sorry.

_________________________________________________

Via: wikimedia commons
Via: wikimedia commons

Architect = Good at Math and/or Good at Drawing

Believe it or not, creating architecture requires neither advanced calculus nor hand-drawing artistic masterpieces. Not to say that those talents are unrelated or unhelpful, but people-management and creative problem solving skills on both a detail and broad scale are much more necessary. Yes, there are pathways within the profession that lean more towards art or math, but they aren’t really what your average architect is all about.

_________________________________________________

Via: animalpictureplace. com

Architect = Makes Tons of Cash-Money

Hahahhahahahahhahaha. No. Pure, absolute lie. Better off than teachers, but architects don’t make anything near the oft-compared-to doctors or lawyers. Not by a long shot.

_________________________________________________

NOTE: Obviously (hopefully) this is 100% subjective. These are only my specific experiences and arguments which may or may not be relevant to anyone else.

Leave a Reply

