Tapas and Happy

The tapas restaurant trend is nothing new. Similar to sushi in some mentalities, it embodies the get-a-little-of-everything-and-share vibe through a multitude of small plates.

Tapas is often a social meal… family style eating but without unlimited portions. I see it more as a customizable tasting menu and a chance to indulge my culinary whims.  As someone who really enjoys variety with meals (I pretty much never crave a giant portion of one thing), tapas-style eating seems like a natural fit.

I’d totally wear this, if I was the button wearing type. via zazzle.com

I am not a foodie. I am not here to give breaking news on an old trend, or convince anyone that tapa-style eating is the greatest thing in the history of life. There are a handful of really excellent articles in L.A. Weekly on the small plate trend if you want to learn more. And if you are totally over the whole situation, check out this great article in The Washington Post.

Me personally? I love it.

I indulged in tapas last night… and because it was so tasty, heres a quick break down of what I consumed, a la carte.

  • Caprese senza Pomodoro
  • Brindisi Pianura con Burro
  • Roasted Pepper Hummus with Rustic Vegetable
  • Quinoa Kale Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette
  • Slow-Roasted Tomato and Legume Potage
  • Three-spoon Cacao Iced Trio
via now-hear-this.timeout.com

Alright I lied. I didn’t even leave my kitchen for dinner last night.

Here’s a translated menu, and the truth, of what I consumed and called a meal:

  • Caprese senza Pomodoro –  Some of those little fresh mozzarella balls picked up with a toothpick. No tomato. No basil.
    Brindisi Pianura con Burro –  A piece of toast with butter. Hey, everything sounds fancier in Italian.
    Roasted Pepper Hummus with Rustic Vegetable –  Store-bought hummus with a couple roughly peeled and sliced carrots.
    Quinoa Kale Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette –  Actually what it says and the remnants of my lunch. 
    Slow-Roasted Tomato and Legume Potage – The last little bit of crock pot chili. But “potage” sounds deluxe, huh?
    Three-spoon Cacao Iced Trio –  Final three bites of a chocolate fudge swirl Ben and Jerrys pint.

Nothing like going all MacGuyver on your leftovers and calling it dinner, huh? Described as tapas and verbalized it in pretentious verbiage sure sounds better than “I ate whatever random stuff was in my fridge.”  Fridge-Tapas sound legit and much less sad.

I sometimes struggle with dredging up motivation to really cook for one. After last night’s Smörgåsbord (I AM Norwegian), I ended up strangely satisfied AND with a nice clean fridge. Is is something I would ever present to guests at a dinner party? Probably not.

But for little ol’ me?

Well, I have certainly eaten worse for dinner.

Leave a Reply

